November 29, 2021

Indonesia Africa Immigration Restrictions for COVID-19 Omicron Variant

In response to the new COVID-19 variant, Omicron Indonesia has released this new regulation. The regulation details temporary restrictions on foreigners who have lived and/or visited the territory of certain countries to enter Indonesian territory to help prevent the spread of the new variant of COVID-19 (B.1.1.529.)

The regulation states:

1) Temporarily refuse entry to foreigners who have lived and/or visited: South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini, and Nigeria within 14 (fourteen) days prior to admission to Indonesian territory.

2) Temporary suspension of the granting of visit visas and limited stay visas for citizens of South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini, and Nigeria.

3) The provisions as referred to in number 1) and number 2) are excluded from foreigners who will attend meetings related to the Indonesian Presidency in the G20.

Do get in touch if you have any questions.


** New regulation extends the restrictions –

2. Temporarily close the entry of Foreign Citizens (WNA), either direct or transit in a foreign country, who have lived and/or visit within 14 (fourteen) days from the country/region with the following criteria:

a. Has confirmed the community transmission of the new SARS-CoV-2 B.1.1.529: South Africa, Botswana and Hong Kong;

b. Countries/regions that are geographically close to the country of transmission community of significant new variant B.1.1.529 cases: Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini and Lesotho

e. In the case of Indonesian citizens originating from the country/region as referred to in number 2 can still enter the territory of Indonesia by doing RT-PCR retest on arrival and are required to undergo quarantine for 14 x 24 hours;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Protected by Spam Master